Pizza with radicchio, endive, walnuts, and Roquefort; kale – 30 March 2013

Addpix

This is a pizza I first made in 2011. I followed that recipe tonight, with the following changes: I used a rather generous 1/4 cup of walnuts; I weighed the Roquefort (Societe, from The Cheese Board) at 2 oz. I could have used less, but 2 oz worked well. My recipe is a takeoff on a pasta recipe from Weber’s Art of the Grill, a superb cookbook.

R was joining us for dinner, so I added a veggie. I cut a small basketful of kale from the garden, stemmed it and cut into pieces an inch or so wide. I boiled the pieces in salted water for 5 minutes, drained the leaves, pressed them to squeeze out as much water as I could, added a bit of butter to the pan and reheated the chard, salting it also in the process.

We had our Friday wine (though it was Saturday) having missed it last night: Cantina Zaccagnini Montepulciano d’Abruzzo (2010). we got this newer vintage at Berkeley Bowl.

This entry was posted in Meatless, Pizza, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

