Tagliatelle with favas and pecorino romano; artichokes – 16 July 2013

I decided last night I needed to use up the fava beans I had bought on the weekend, and D suggested I make a pasta with them.

main130716I searched previous blogs and found this dinner by D, where he cooked favas with winter savory, and had cacio et pepe on the side. I decided to mesh the two, especially since D had suggested adding pecorino to the pasta. I shelled the favas – the sales slip says there was 1.15 pounds of them, but my scale said about 16 oz. Of that, about 4 oz was the beans with skin on them, and about 2 oz – or 1/8 of the total bought weight – was the edible beans. That makes these late-season-on-sale-99cents/lb beans actually $8/lb! 130716-beanssortedHere is what they looked like shelled. I put a wide-bore strainer (deep fat fryer, D says?) into our largest saucepan and set the water to boil. I put the largest beans in and set the timer to 6 minutes. The next size went in a 4.5 minutes, then 3, 2, and 1 minute, so all sizes got about the right amount of cooking. I pulled out the strainer, drained the cooking water to a container for the garden (no salt) and left the beans in the strainer to cool. Later, I cut off one end of the skin and popped the beans out. I mashed the largest ones, and cooked them all in about 2 Tbsp olive oil, with salt, pepper, and perhaps 1/4 tsp finely chopped winter savory. I cooked the pasta as directed, heated the bowls with the cooking water just before the pasta was done, drained the pasta, then returned to the pan with the fava mix, and maybe 1/4 cup of the pasta water (from the preheating bowls). D suggests next time separating the mashed beans from the rest, tossing the pasta in the mashed beans, then topping with the whole ones. 130716-mainwithpecorinoI used a carrot peeler to shave pecorino romano pieces from a block we have from Costco, and we put those over the pasta, and peppered them.

I used about 4 oz of Etruria Egg Pasta (Tagliatelle) from a stash D put in my Christmas stocking, so that was fun.

130716-bunnybread

 

 

 

At the Bowl today, I also bought an Acme Italian Batard for dinner and for tomorrow’s meals. We call it bunny bread for obvious reasons…

 

 

For the first course, I cooked up two of the four artichokes I bought in a sale bag for 99 cents on Saturday. I found a recipe for artichokes online, and followed it pretty closely, though I put less than 2″ of water into the Revere Dutch oven. The “pull an outer leaf” test for doneness worked well. D noted the flavors from the bay leaf, lemon slice, and garlic clove in the water. 130716-artichokeI was musing on what to serve as a dipping sauce, and D suggested (seeing a small leftover piece of shallot in the fridge) chopped shallot in butter – so I did that. It was a very good taste. The artichokes were pretty good, though opened too far to be considered optimal any more.

We had the leftover wines from the past two dinners tonight – both good. I liked the Sangiovese better tonight, at least at first, though since we had it first, that may have been just a reaction to the differentness of the Chianti when I first tasted it. The Chianti definitely held up well.

Lunch:

I made a favorite summer (=tomato) dish for lunch for D&R and me: Warm tomato and leek tart, from Paul Bertolli in the San Francisco Chronicle cookbook.

lunchmain130716Basically: a butter pastry, well chilled and rolled, topped with leeks cooked in butter and water till dry (salted) spread on the crust, then torn basil, grated cheddar (Sierra 6 1/2 year cheddar from The Cheese Board – Wow!!) more basil, and tomato slices, slated and peppered. Then the crust edge is folded over prettily, and the whole thing is baked at 400 degrees for 50 minutes or till done. It’s quite a treat!

This entry was posted in Beans, Legumes, Meatless, Pasta, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

